International Children´s and Young Adult Literature

The section International Children’s and Young Adult Literature offers a wide array of readings and events both within and outside of schools. The section strives to be a comprehensive initiative to promote reading in an interactive way and to strengthen intercultural competency. Thanks to the direct exchange with authors and illustrators of different cultural backgrounds, children and youth can read, discuss, and experiment together in order to understand the world in its cultural diversity. In addition, it is our priority to present unusual and courageous positions in children’s and young adult literature – through both their imagery and topics.

Every year, around 20 authors and illustrators take part in this section and present their books in what are often premiere readings, many of them performing for the first time for the German-speaking public. Several internationally renowned authors and illustrators of children’s books have participated in the ilb over the years, including: Elizabeth Acevedo, David Almond, Frank Cottrell Boyce, John Boyne, Chen Jianghong, Kate DiCamillo, Kitty Crowther, Julia Donaldson, Roddy Doyle, Wolf Erlbruch, Manuele Fior, Cornelia Funke, John Green, Judith Kerr, Jon Klassen, Suzy Lee, Scott McCloud, Patrick Ness, Frida Nilsson, Raquel J. Palacio, Maria Parr, Jason Reynolds, Christian Robinson, Meg Rosoff, Axel Scheffler, Peter Sís, Shaun Tan, Janne Teller and Angie Thomas.

The section's program consists of readings, workshops, an opening speech, a retrospective, a poetry slam, workshop talks and exhibitions. In addition, the literature prize Das außergewöhnliche Buch (The Extraordinary Book) will be awarded. Regular cooperation partners of the section include the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels, the Free University of Berlin (Department of Elementary School Pedagogy / Didactics of German), the Humboldt University of Berlin, the Berlin State Library, LesArt - Berlin Center for Children´s and Youth Literature and the Central Agency for German Schools Abroad. The section is a member of the Arbeitskreis für Jugendliteratur. Since 2011 Christoph Rieger is head of the section.

The section program will be published on July 5, 2021. Advance sales will start on the same day. You will receive current information about the section in our newsletter, which you can subscribe to .

Program 2021

The section program will be published on July 9, 2021. On the same day the advance sale will start. Up-to-date information about the section is available in our newsletter, which you can sign up for .


Christoph Rieger


030 27878670


Opening Speaker

Since 2014 the section has been opened with a speech every year.

2014 – Patrick Ness: Every Age I Ever Was (YouTube)

2015 – Frank Cottrell Boyce: Open the Castle Gates! (YouTube)

2016 – Ruta Sepetys: The Eyes of the Future Past (YouTube)

2017 – Meg Rosoff: What Richard Dawkins Could Learn From Goldilocks (YouTube)

2018 – Frida Nilsson: You Are Now (YouTube)

2019 – Elizabeth Acevedo: The One True Superpower

2020 – Sally Nicholls: Writing in a Pandemic


Since 2011, a retrospective of a classic of children's and youth literature has been held every year.

2011 – Michael Ende: Momo

2012 – J. R. R. Tolkien: The Hobbit

2013 – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry: The Little Prince

2014 – William Steig: Abel´s Island

2015 – Roald Dahl: Danny  The Champion of the World

2016 – Shel Silverstein: Where the Sidewalk Ends

2017 – Lucy Maud Montgomery: Anne of Green Gables

2018 – Astrid Lindgren: Ronia, the Robber´s Daughter

2019 – Michael Ende: The Neverending Story

2020 – Maurice Sendak: Where the Wild Things Are

Host countries

Since 2016, host countries have been the focus of the section program on an irregular basis.

2016 – Netherlands and Flanders

2018  Switzerland

2019  Norway


Film portrait of the section (2014)