Salman Rushdie  [ India, USA ]


Salman Rushdie Portrait
© Ali Ghandtschi

Guest 2013, 2015, 2017.




München, 1983

[Ü.: Karin Graf]

Die Satanischen Verse

Artikel 19 Verlag

Hamburg, 1989

Shalimar der Narr


Reinbek, 2006

[Ü.: Bernhard Robben]

Die bezaubernde Florentinerin


Reinbek, 2009

[Ü.: Bernhard Robben]

Luka und das Lebensfeuer


Reinbek, 2011

[Ü.: Bernhard Robben]

Joseph Anton

Die Autobiografie

C. Bertelsmann

München, 2012

[Ü.: Bernhard Robben u. Verena von Koskull]

Zwei Jahre, acht Monate und achtundzwanzig Nächte

C. Bertelsmann

München, 2015

[Ü.: Sigrid Ruschmeier]

Golden House

C. Bertelsmann

München, 2017

[Ü.: Sabine Herting]

Salman Rushdie is the author of twelve novels, »Grimus«, »Midnight’s Children« (which won the Booker Prize in 1981), »Shame«, »The Satanic Verses«, »Haroun and the Sea of Stories«, »The Moor’s Last Sigh«, »The Ground Beneath Her Feet«, »Fury«, »Shalimar the Clown«, »The Enchantress of Florence«, »Luka and the Fire of Life« and »The Golden House«, several short story collections, and the autobiographical memoir »Joseph Anton«. »Midnight’s Children« was named the »Booker of Bookers« in 2008 – the best winner in the award’s 40 year history. It was adapted for the stage and performed by the Royal Shakespeare Company in London and New York. The screenplay for the cinematic version, directed by Deepa Mehta and released in 2012, was also written by Rushdie.

A Fellow of the British Royal Society of Literature, Rushdie has received, among other honors, the Whitbread Prize for Best Novel (twice), the Writers’ Guild Award, the James Tait Black Prize, the European Union’s Aristeion Prize for Literature, Author of the Year Prizes in both Britain and Germany, the French Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger, the Budapest Grand Prize for Literature, the Premio Grinzane Cavour in Italy, the Crossword Book Award in India, the Austrian State Prize for European Literature, the London International Writers’ Award, the James Joyce award of University College Dublin, and a U.S. National Arts Award. He holds honorary doctorates and fellowships at six European and six American universities, is an Honorary Professor in the Humanities at M.I.T, and University Distinguished Professor at Emory University. He holds the rank of Commandeur in the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres – France’s highest artistic honor. Between 2004 and 2006 he served as President of the PEN American Center, and also helped to create the PEN World Voices International Literary Festival. In June 2007 he received a knighthood. In 2008 he became a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters and was named a Library Lion of the New York Public Library.

His books have been translated into over forty languages.

Filed under: